Moode Forum

Full Version: direct play to USB
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello,
I am quite new to moode and also to many of the terms as PCM, DSD.
I have E30 DAC connected to USB 2.0 of Pi4.
I like to play files in exact format as their are on my NAS.
I have disabled the SoX

Now when I play I see on display of E30 DAC corresponding 44.1 PCM or 96 or anything corresponding to file format.
I see also on Audion Information page of moode always 32 bit instead of bits in file.
For example:

Code:
Decoded to: 16 bit, 48 kHz, Stereo, 434 kbps
Destination: Local
Output rate: 32 bit, 48 kHz, Stereo, 3.072 Mbps

I have quite a few questions:

Is it possible to turn this off and keep also bits same as in file?
Does it has any effect on audio quality?
What exactly is DSD and its relation to PCM?

I must say that currently audio over moode on Pi4 to E30 DAC is producing little less quality audio then my CD. (FLAC from same CD, exact audio copy sw used)

Here few info on my configuration:

Code:
[b]Audio Device[/b]
Device: USB audio device (E30)
Mixer name: E30
Chip: 

Interface: USB
Formats: S32_LE, SPECIAL, DSD_U32_BE
Platform: Pi-4B 4GB v1.2

64 bit kernel
0.22~git MPD
i2s audio = none
DSD over PCM  = no

Thank you very much for your kind help
Differences in SQ can be due to a variety of physical factors including quality of power supply, noise levels, equipment compatibility, etc and some psychological factors including expectation bias, placebo effect, being used to a systems sound characteristics, etc.

Your audio device prolly has a USB receiver chipset that only accepts 32-bit word length. This is pretty common these days. In this case Linux/ALSA will automatically zero-pad the bit depth to 32-bits. This does not change the original 16 or 24 bits of audio in the samples and does not affect SQ.