Thank you for your donation!


moOde 6.4.0 bug reports
#71
@stefano_mbp

Perfect.
Reply
#72
(12-03-2019, 03:04 PM)stefano_mbp Wrote:
(12-03-2019, 02:36 PM)TheOldPresbyope Wrote: Good morning.

You're close but 1) need to run the lsusb command as root so it can open the device to get details and 2) need to make curiosities like trailing spaces and non-printing characters visible.

So, on the command line, take sudo lsusb -v and pipe the output into cat -A. The option on the cat command tell it to show end-of-lines as '$', to show tabs as '^I', and to show non-printing characters in '^' and 'M-' notation.

Here's an example from the beginning of the output from my offending Khadas Tone Board (where I told lsusb the device ID so I could shorten the output a bit; you can get the device ID from the lsusb output). Note the space before the '$' on some lines.

Code:
pi@moodeLR:~ $ sudo lsusb -v -d 20b1:000a | cat -A
$
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 20b1:000a XMOS Ltd $
Device Descriptor:$
 bLength                18$
 bDescriptorType         1$
 bcdUSB               2.00$
 bDeviceClass          239 Miscellaneous Device$
 bDeviceSubClass         2 $
 bDeviceProtocol         1 Interface Association$
 bMaxPacketSize0        64$
 idVendor           0x20b1 XMOS Ltd$
 idProduct          0x000a $
 bcdDevice            1.04$
 iManufacturer           1 XMOS$
 iProduct                3 Khadas Tone Control$
 iSerial                 0 $
...


So try this concatenated pair of commands on your system and post your results. 

To illustrate the Khadas-descriptor inconsistency we were wrestling with, here's what I get when I pipe the previous output into grep to look for occurrences of 'Khadas'. Sometimes trailing space; sometimes not. Sigh.

Code:
pi@moodeLR:~ $ sudo lsusb -v -d 20b1:000a | cat -A | grep Khadas
 iProduct                3 Khadas Tone Control$
     iInterface              3 Khadas Tone Control$
       iTerminal               6 Khadas Tone Control $
     iInterface              4 Khadas Tone Control $
     iInterface              4 Khadas Tone Control $
     iInterface              4 Khadas Tone Control $
     iInterface              4 Khadas Tone Control $
     iInterface              3 Khadas Tone Control$
       iTerminal               6 Khadas Tone Control $
     iInterface              4 Khadas Tone Control $
     iInterface              4 Khadas Tone Control $
     iInterface              4 Khadas Tone Control $
can't get debug descriptor: Resource temporarily unavailable
     iInterface              4 Khadas Tone Control $

Regards,
Kent
thank you Kent, here the result (I hope it is correct)

sudo lsusb -v -d

.... and with grep (grep CA and grep DacMagic)

Code:
pi@moode:~ $ sudo lsusb -v -d 22e8:dac6 | cat -A | grep CA                                                                                            
 iManufacturer           1 CA $
 iProduct                2 CA DacMagicXS 2.0$
     iInterface              2 CA DacMagicXS 2.0$
       iClockSource            9 CA Internal Clock$
       iClockSelector          8 CA Clock Selector$
       iTerminal               6 CA Audio 2.0 Output$
     iInterface              4 CA DacMagicXS 2.0$
     iInterface              4 CA DacMagicXS 2.0$
     iInterface             10 CA DFU$
     iInterface              2 CA DacMagicXS 2.0$
       iClockSource            9 CA Internal Clock$
       iClockSelector          8 CA Clock Selector$
       iTerminal               6 CA Audio 2.0 Output$
     iInterface              4 CA DacMagicXS 2.0$
     iInterface              4 CA DacMagicXS 2.0$
can't get debug descriptor: Resource temporarily unavailable                                                                                          
     iInterface             10 CA DFU$
pi@moode:~ $ sudo lsusb -v -d 22e8:dac6 | cat -A | grep DacMagic                                                                                      
 iProduct                2 CA DacMagicXS 2.0$
     iInterface              2 CA DacMagicXS 2.0$
     iInterface              4 CA DacMagicXS 2.0$
     iInterface              4 CA DacMagicXS 2.0$
     iInterface              2 CA DacMagicXS 2.0$
     iInterface              4 CA DacMagicXS 2.0$
     iInterface              4 CA DacMagicXS 2.0$
can't get debug descriptor: Resource temporarily unavailable
Reply
#73
@stefano_mbp,

I don't see any trailing spaces so that rules out the "training space in mixer name" issue.

Based on this result and the amixer output from earlier which seems to be missing the ALSA volume fields I'd conclude that the CA device is not compatible with Linux possibly due to incorrect USB descriptor.

Amixer output from earlier which suggests missing ALSA volume fields.

It shows front L/R playback [on] but no limits or [vol%]

pi@moode:~ $ amixer -c 1
Simple mixer control 'CA Audio 2.0 Output',0
Capabilities: pswitch
Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
Mono:
Front Left: Playback [on]
Front Right: Playback [on]
Simple mixer control 'CA Audio 2.0 Output',1
Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
Playback channels: Mono
Mono: Playback [on]

Here is what the output should look like.

pi@rp3:~ $ amixer -c0 sget Master
Simple mixer control 'Master',0
 Capabilities: pvolume pswitch pswitch-joined
 Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
 Limits: Playback 0 - 255
 Mono:
 Front Left: Playback 148 [58%] [-53.50dB] [on]
 Front Right: Playback 148 [58%] [-53.50dB] [on]

-Tim
Reply
#74
(12-03-2019, 06:07 PM)Tim Curtis Wrote: @stefano_mbp,

I don't see any trailing spaces so that rules out the "training space in mixer name" issue.

Based on this result and the amixer output from earlier which seems to be missing the ALSA volume fields I'd conclude that the CA device is not compatible with Linux possibly due to incorrect USB descriptor.

Amixer output from earlier which suggests missing ALSA volume fields.

It shows front L/R playback [on] but no limits or [vol%]

pi@moode:~ $ amixer -c 1
Simple mixer control 'CA Audio 2.0 Output',0
Capabilities: pswitch
Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
Mono:
Front Left: Playback [on]
Front Right: Playback [on]
Simple mixer control 'CA Audio 2.0 Output',1
Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
Playback channels: Mono
Mono: Playback [on]

Here is what the output should look like.

pi@rp3:~ $ amixer -c0 sget Master
Simple mixer control 'Master',0
 Capabilities: pvolume pswitch pswitch-joined
 Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
 Limits: Playback 0 - 255
 Mono:
 Front Left: Playback 148 [58%] [-53.50dB] [on]
 Front Right: Playback 148 [58%] [-53.50dB] [on]

-Tim
I’ll check and report you ASAP, thank you for your effort and .... your software is anyway fantastic
Reply
#75
(12-03-2019, 09:32 PM)stefano_mbp Wrote:
(12-03-2019, 06:07 PM)Tim Curtis Wrote: @stefano_mbp,

I don't see any trailing spaces so that rules out the "training space in mixer name" issue.

Based on this result and the amixer output from earlier which seems to be missing the ALSA volume fields I'd conclude that the CA device is not compatible with Linux possibly due to incorrect USB descriptor.

Amixer output from earlier which suggests missing ALSA volume fields.

It shows front L/R playback [on] but no limits or [vol%]

pi@moode:~ $ amixer -c 1
Simple mixer control 'CA Audio 2.0 Output',0
Capabilities: pswitch
Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
Mono:
Front Left: Playback [on]
Front Right: Playback [on]
Simple mixer control 'CA Audio 2.0 Output',1
Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
Playback channels: Mono
Mono: Playback [on]

Here is what the output should look like.

pi@rp3:~ $ amixer -c0 sget Master
Simple mixer control 'Master',0
 Capabilities: pvolume pswitch pswitch-joined
 Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
 Limits: Playback 0 - 255
 Mono:
 Front Left: Playback 148 [58%] [-53.50dB] [on]
 Front Right: Playback 148 [58%] [-53.50dB] [on]

-Tim
I’ll check and report you ASAP, thank you for your effort and .... your software is anyway fantastic

.... and here what I could find in the Cambridge Audio faq page 

Will my DacMagic XS operate with the Linux operating system?

Our DACs are designed to be supported by the Windows WDM and Mac OS built in drivers, however, your DAC may work with the Linux operating system providing that the suitable USB audio drivers have been installed and your sound manager is configured correctly.
Due to the many configuration options and target hardware, we cannot say that Linux is officially supported by our DACs, but they do use the standard USB Audio Profile - if your system is configured for this profile, setting up the DAC should be relatively simple.
Reply
#76
Given that the manufacturer does not support Linux I'd recommend starting a separate thread on the issue with this particular audio device. Maybe another user can shed some light on what might be happening.
Reply
#77
Hi,

Another update on the bug fix list as we march toward year end :-)

Code:
########################################################
//
// 6.4.1 2019-MM-DD
//
########################################################

Updates

- UPD: Add features availability to moodeutl
- UPD: Improve volume knob step limiter
- UPD: Use mixer name 'Channels' for HiFiBerry Amp(Amp+)
- UPD: Comment out Info logging from watchdog

Bug fixes

- FIX: 64-bit kernel not listed in dropdown if USBridge SIG
- FIX: Partial fix for Autofocus not working on modal popups
- FIX: Logic to parse /etc/resolv.conf for Moode log
- FIX: Minor bugs in various HTML files

@gbh_uk was kind enough to find several minor bugs in various HTML files as part of a nice PR to enhance the Library.
https://github.com/moode-player/moode/pull/64

I'm going to include the HTML bug fixes in the December 6.4.1 bug fix release but defer enhancement and new feature PR's to next year.

-Tim
Reply
#78
@stefano_mbp

(12-03-2019, 11:36 PM)Tim Curtis Wrote: Given that the manufacturer does not support Linux I'd recommend starting a separate thread on the issue with this particular audio device. Maybe another user can shed some light on what might be happening.


Yes, please do create a separate thread. I for one find it difficult to sift through the myriad posts to this thread in order to track your specific issue.

Please start the new thread with a concise description of the current state of the issue now that you apparently have a clean install of moOde 6.4.0.

Regards,
Kent
Reply
#79
Sad 
Hello Tim, I have a bug to report !  Big Grin
Don't Know if it is related to the last version (didn't pay attention before Undecided )
Whatever, the problem is on the UI on a local display (the 7" raspberry official one).
The 2 wheels are not at the good size sometimes. I join a picture for illustration...
usually they are bigger and sized to the bottom !

The problem seems to be random (It depends more of an on/off than just related to radios/albums changing).
Thanks


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
       
Rasptouch case with RPI3 + I2C 16x2 screen and IR port
Audiophonics I-Sabre V2.1 DAC ES9023 TCXO
Reply
#80
Prolly just need a Menu, Refresh :-)
Reply


Forum Jump: