Thank you for your donation!

Cloudsmith graciously provides open-source package management and distribution for our project.

Raspberry - Two USB DAC
Hi everybody,

I am quite new with Moode and my experience till now is very very positive.
At the moment I only have a (minor) issue ... and I would like to solve if possible.

I use 6.4.2 on Pi3B+ (Connected to the network by Ethernet cable) to drive an USB external DAC.

In deed I have two USB DACs and I tried to connect both of them to Raspberry but they are both already on when the system goes up and this seems to create random problems in their recognition.
Some time the system is able to work with one of them, some time it does not work at all. In any case it seems there is no a smooth way to switch from one to the other.

I tried also to keep the DACs in stand-by while moode starts up, but it does not work well anyway
and the random behave is still there.
The only way I found choose a specific DAC and get it working, is to phisically connect only one DAC to Pi - that is not the most elegant solution.

Is this limitation expected or it is only my poor knowledge of the system?

Thank you for suggestions.
  Fabio
What make and model are the DAC's?
Enjoy the Music!
moodeaudio.org | Mastodon Feed | GitHub
Thank you for your answer Tim,

They are:
Marantz Hd-DaC1 - Headphone amp + DAC
North Star Blue Diamond - Inegrated amp + DAC

But I think that Mood behave could be the same whaterver couple of DAC is connected to Pi because both my DACs work perfectly when connected standalone.

Fabio
ALSA USB audio hot plugging and swapping are not what I'd call reliable. Standby mode and wakeup also IME have not been reliably detected by ALSA.