Thank you for your donation!

Next steps for a beginner
Hi

I thought I'd ask for some advice, please note I am a beginner, so be gentle!

Having the pleasure of working from home due to lock down, I dug out my old KEF ref speakers and wanted a neat input music source. I purchased a Brennan B2, this is a great bit of kit, but after a couple of weeks it broke and it went back. At £500 I expected better.  So, having ripped 120 CDs to FLAC files on the B2, I made a back up before returning it and then set about looking for an alternative solution.

Web searches brought me to the Raspberry and I knew I had an old one somewhere, (2b) having found it and loaded MoOde to a micro card, and hooking it up to my old Cyrus One amp, I am totally amazed at the the sound quality especially as total spend £0!

It only seems to work on ethernet despite having a WiFi dongle, but as I converted an old BT hub 5 router to a switch, that's ok and I can run the little Pi and home PC off the one ethernet port.

I have not yet got it to play radio stations or stream from Spotify, but that is a head scratch in progress.

The advice I am hoping you guys can provide is what my next steps could be? The Pi's own DAC sounds pretty good, but I have read that a HAT DAC will be even better.  I do get a transformer hum, is that likely to be the power source?

The audiophonics kit looks good especially with the screen, but one of those and a P4 brings the cost up to £200 or so and I't need to be good given I've spent £0 so far.

What did you do to develop and progress your system and what incremental steps would you recommend?

Thanks
The Pi's dac/headphone jack is terrible so yeah, a DAC is a must really and I'm guessing your Cyrus One doesn't have one built in.