Thank you for your donation!

Cloudsmith graciously provides open-source package management and distribution for our project.

Moode Audio DAC and Logictech Music Server
I am new to this hobby and love it. I had some more questions.

I am getting my Allo Boss DAC Today. 

I have Raspberry 4 and 3b. Which one should I use with the Allo Boss DAC?  Should I the DAC Powered by the cord that comes with it?

Should I connect the pi via network cord or wifi connections?

I thought about setting up Logitech  Music Server on my network.  Any thoughts on this?  All my music is Flac.   Should I put LMS on mac mini or intel nuc?   

Any other suggestion would be appreciated 

Thank you.
(09-16-2020, 02:32 PM)Park13 Wrote: I am new to this hobby and love it. I had some more questions.

I have Raspberry 4 and 3b. Which one should I use with the Allo Boss DAC?  Should I the DAC Powered by the cord that comes with it?

I thought about setting up Logitech  Music Server on my network.  Any thoughts on this?  All my music is Flac.   Should I put LMS on mac mini or intel nuc?   

Thank you.

I have no Allo equipment so can't comment on that aspect.

As for WiFi vs Ethernet, both have worked well for me with all model RPis (some older models need an external adapter to use WiFi, of course). If in doubt, Ethernet should always work at peak performance. WiFI may not in certain circumstances such as 
  • interfering sources (if in close proximity, my microwave oven can be a problem in the 2.4GHz band, for example)
  • lots of WiFi traffic with your AP or another in the vicinity
  • RPi located too far from Access Point
  • RPi's WiFi antenna partially or wholly shielded by metal enclosure, etc.

It seems unnecessary to use a Logitech Media Server unless you already have other Squeezebox players or just particularly like this approach. Most of us run either SAMBA/NFS servers or UPnP Media Servers, or both, depending on the rest of our gear.