Thank you for your donation!

Cloudsmith graciously provides open-source package management and distribution for our project.

Rpi 4b in to Topping D10 for car audio (airplay)
Hi there,

I'm new to Rpi's and all related.
Was looking for a airplay receiver in my car.
Just bought a 4B, installed moOde, tinkered a couple of hours with lots of reading on this forum and got it working.
Airplay via hdmi out works just fine.

Now for the next step!
I want to hook the Pi up to a Topping D10 with an optical cable to the dsp in my car.
But as soon as I connect the D10 the Rpi goes in a restart loop.
So ... what am I doing wrong here?
Or what should I read?

Greetings from Zandvoort, Menno!
Are you sure that your power supply is adequate for the RPi plus DAC and is not dropping below 5V during boot? In addition, if the RPi USB cannot supply sufficient power to the DAC you may need to use a powered USB hub.
(07-14-2021, 08:55 PM)jonners Wrote: Are you sure that your power supply is adequate for the RPi plus DAC and is not dropping below 5V during boot? In addition, if the RPi USB cannot supply sufficient power to the DAC you may need to use a powered USB hub.

I think you're on the right track except for the Pi4 USB power capabilities. The USB power goes straight from power supply input of the Pi4 to the USB jacks.  The D10 is pretty low power (it's a DAC only, no headphone amp), so it shouldn't be a problem.

Less likely, but still possible explanations could be a noisy and/or poorly regulated power supply or a USB power cable is too small a gauge and/or too long, leading to excessive voltage drop due to cable resistance.