Moode Forum
Official moOde 7.1.0 support thread - Printable Version

+- Moode Forum (https://moodeaudio.org/forum)
+-- Forum: moOde audio player (https://moodeaudio.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Support (https://moodeaudio.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Thread: Official moOde 7.1.0 support thread (/showthread.php?tid=3615)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20


RE: Official moOde 7.1.0 support thread - Tim Curtis - 03-21-2021

(03-21-2021, 07:43 AM)Djsedaw Wrote: Just noticed when playing using airplay it no longer displays a disconnect message like before but let's you access all the normal menus, 

if you try to play anything from  moode it displays a message that MPD is in use, if you pause playing on the airplay player after a few moments you can start playing from moode again!

No issues on my end. Try clearing the Browser cache.


RE: Official moOde 7.1.0 support thread - Tim Curtis - 03-21-2021

(03-21-2021, 09:18 AM)chano22000 Wrote: Thumbnails resolution

Hi Tim,

Thank you for your answer.

Quote:Q1 : is it possible to restore the lower resolutions (including 200px) ?

A: I'm not sure I understand whats causing your performance issue. Any modern Laptop should easily and quickly render 400px images. My old iPad mini has no problem quickly rendering 600px cover images. Safari Browser.

400px thumbnails (the minimal enforceable resolution) are obviously overkill for a full HD screen displaying the standard album view (6 columns + spacing), but we can live with it since they are cached by the browser. I personnaly sticked to the info related to this item in 6.7.1 advising not to use unnecessary high resolutions.

You might have a look on the "auto" mode which as previously mentionned does not deliver any kind of optimal resolution (100px instead of 200 in present case for the browser to downscale to 180 in full screen mode), but I suspect there are other priorities !

Thank you again for Moode and your attention.

Philippe

The Auto setting uses the device's pixel ratio to determine the optimal image size and quality.
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/8785643/what-exactly-is-device-pixel-ratio

The logic moOde uses is in /var/www/command/thmcache.php. improvements are always welcome.

Code:
// Auto: Uses the device Pixel Ratio to set an optimum resolution and quality while maintaining the smallest file size (fastest image load time).
// NOTE: Manual should be used for Desktops
/*
Device        Physical    Pixel    Logical
            Res (px)     Ratio    Res (px)
---------------------------------------------------
iPhone 3g    320×480        1        320×480
iPhone 4s    640×960        2        320×480
iPhone 5    640×1136    2        320×568
iPhone 6    750×1334    2        375×667
iPad 2        768×1024    1        768×1024
iPad 3        1536×2048    2        768×1024
Samsung GS3    720×1280    2        360×640
Samsung GS4    1080×1920    3        360×640
iMac 27"    2560x1440    1        2560x1440
iMac 27" R    5120x2880     2        2560x1440
*/

if ($hires_thm == 'Auto') {
    if ($pixel_ratio == 2) {
        $thm_w = 200;
        $thm_q = 75;
    }
    elseif ($pixel_ratio >= 3) {
        $thm_w = 400;
        $thm_q = 50;
    }
    else {
        $thm_w = 100;
        $thm_q = 75;
    }
}
// Manual: Use the specified resolution and quality factor.
else {
    $hires_thm_wq = explode(',', $hires_thm);
    $thm_w = substr($hires_thm_wq[0], 0, 3); // The numeric part ex: "400" from "400px"
    $thm_q = $hires_thm_wq[1];
}

The pixel ratio and other related items are reported in the Moode startup log after thumbnails have been generated.


RE: Official moOde 7.1.0 support thread - Tim Curtis - 03-21-2021

(03-21-2021, 11:19 AM)philrandal Wrote:
(03-21-2021, 12:30 AM)TheOldPresbyope Wrote: With swap enabled, an RPi ZeroW updates from 7.0.1 to 7.1.0 in 87 minutes using the stock update procedure including 'make -j4'.

My personal advice, from my experience of the administration of  hundreds of Windows servers and dozens of Linux servers, is to never disable swap.

Normally it won't be used, but in the rare cases that it is needed, it's better than no swap.

Cheers,

Phil

Swapfile has never been needed for runtime moOde which uses maybe 150 - 200MB RAM. Its been this way for over 5 years.

There is an issue with the current in-place update and single core Pi's or Pi's with < 1GB RAM that results in memory constraint during compile of the complex upnp components causing extremely long compile time.

We are testing a revised update that includes the build output from the upnp compiles and thus avoids compiling altogether.


RE: Official moOde 7.1.0 support thread - Djsedaw - 03-21-2021

(03-21-2021, 12:34 PM)Tim Curtis Wrote:
(03-21-2021, 07:43 AM)Djsedaw Wrote: Just noticed when playing using airplay it no longer displays a disconnect message like before but let's you access all the normal menus, 

if you try to play anything from  moode it displays a message that MPD is in use, if you pause playing on the airplay player after a few moments you can start playing from moode again!

No issues on my end. Try clearing the Browser cache.
Yes tried it on another browser and machine, the message says
MPD ERROR
Failed to open "ALSA Default" (alsa)
Failed to open "ALSA device "hw:0,0"
Device or resource busy


RE: Official moOde 7.1.0 support thread - chano22000 - 03-21-2021

Hi Tim,

Thank you for your answer.

Quote:The pixel ratio and other related items are reported in the Moode startup log after thumbnails have been generated.

Here is what I get when regenerating the thumbnail cache in "auto" mode (Firefox fullscreen - 13,3" 1920x1080 screen)

Code:
20210321 195015 worker: Job regen_thmcache
20210321 195015 thmcache: Start
20210321 195015 thmcache: Priority: Embedded cover
20210321 195015 thmcache: Res,Qual: Auto
20210321 195015 thmcache: Px ratio: 1
20210321 195015 thmcache: Th width: 100
20210321 195015 thmcache: Thm qual: 75

"auto" might not work because I use a laptop  (= desktop ?) :

Code:
// Auto: Uses the device Pixel Ratio to set an optimum resolution and quality while maintaining the smallest file size (fastest image load time).
// NOTE: Manual should be used for Desktops

Improving the logic in thmcache.php for the community is unfortunately far beyond my capabilities. I might only be able to restore the 200px and 300px menu items in the corresponding html file which would solve the issue !

Philippe


RE: Official moOde 7.1.0 support thread - zOr7gA8 - 03-21-2021

(03-21-2021, 12:30 AM)TheOldPresbyope Wrote:
(03-20-2021, 01:50 PM)Tim Curtis Wrote: Hang tight. @bitlab generated the build output for upmpdcli and libupnpp bindings and so it might be possible to just copy the files and dirs to their destination instead of compile/make.

I'll try to test later today or tomorrow.

That would be best, but just so you know: 

With swap enabled, an RPi ZeroW updates from 7.0.1 to 7.1.0 in 87 minutes using the stock update procedure including 'make -j4'.

Regards,
Kent

great advice to use swap for compiling. when I tested several packages of upmpdcli for the cover issue I lost hours with my raspi3A+.
with swap it is compiling really fast.

thank you very much.


RE: Official moOde 7.1.0 support thread - Tim Curtis - 03-21-2021

An improved version of the update has been deployed. This version avoids the lengthly UPnP compiles and should take around 10 minutes o complete depending on network and system speed.


RE: Official moOde 7.1.0 support thread - didier573 - 03-22-2021

(03-21-2021, 11:45 PM)Tim Curtis Wrote: An improved version of the update has been deployed. This version avoids the lengthly UPnP compiles and should take around 10 minutes o complete depending on network and system speed.

Hello,
I run moOde 7.0.1 with a PI 4B 1.2 but the 7.1 version is not recognized. Any idea about this issue ?


RE: Official moOde 7.1.0 support thread - Tantor - 03-22-2021

Hello,

The new Moode 7.1 runs like a charm on my Pi3B with a AlloDigione hat and I am very happy with it!
Congratulations to Tim and all the development team !
Camilla DSP is definitely a game changer, especially for all headphones users. If I may, I would suggest to add in Moode distribution some (very) useful audio files (same as it is done with the "Stereo test") like pink noise, L/R/L+R frequency sweeps with a time basis. Would it be possible to talk with REW developers to have a direct exchange of the correction filters into Moode/Camilla in RAW format ?

PS : I did a (little) donation to the project


RE: Official moOde 7.1.0 support thread - Tim Curtis - 03-22-2021

(03-22-2021, 07:26 AM)didier573 Wrote:
(03-21-2021, 11:45 PM)Tim Curtis Wrote: An improved version of the update has been deployed. This version avoids the lengthly UPnP compiles and should take around 10 minutes o complete depending on network and system speed.

Hello,
I run moOde 7.0.1 with a PI 4B 1.2 but the 7.1 version is not recognized. Any idea about this issue ?

Sounds like a network or Browser issue on your end. Try rebooting your Router.

The in-place updates are served by Amazon CloudFront which has edge servers in every corner of the Earth.