Thank you for your donation!

Cloudsmith graciously provides open-source package management and distribution for our project.

Moode Audio in Raspbian Desktop / other distribution
Hi

Total newbie question, but i've been searching for a while, both here and in the previous forum, with no clear answer:

I'd like to install Moode Audio not as a standlone OS in an SD card (for raspeberry pi), but within a working Raspbian desktop distribution (either the Noobs raspbian for raspberry, or other specific ones like Pipplware), so that i can still make use of the other features of the distribution (NAS / Media center / programming servers, etc).

Moode would be another instance working within the OS. 

My question is:

- Is this possible?
- If yes, where can I find a tutorial for it?

Thanks in advance. And congrats on the project. Still to test, but looks promising.

BR
PS
Anyone?
(06-01-2018, 07:51 AM)PGSilva Wrote: Anyone?

moOde is built on Raspbian which is the Raspberry Pi flavor of Debian. You have the whole Debian repository to draw from, including X11 server, desktop environments, and tons of apps, so you can build out from moOde.

For me, the question is, why try to turn a purpose-built audiophile-grade music player into a all-purpose machine, especially when the Raspberry Pi is so limited in horsepower and bandwidth. You have no guarantee the audio quality would be preserved and the RPi is so inexpensive you can just buy another to be your desktop computer. Were I determined to use an SBC for desktop work, I would not choose the RPi (but my aging el-cheapo laptop knocks the socks off any SBC). Similarly, were I determined to use an SBC as a NAS, I would not choose the RPi (indeed I chose an Odroid HC1).