Thank you for your donation!

Cloudsmith graciously provides open-source package management and distribution for our project.

Ripped Vinyl Metadata
Hey folks,

I'm a two day newbie to Moode, and am relatively new to the world of hifi in general. 

That said, I recently made some high quality rips of a couple LP's I had using my ProTools rig. These output the "tracks" as 24bit/192k .wav files. I manually added the metadata (or what I thought) to the tracks using Kid3 tag editor, and added them to my NAS. 

However, when I pull them up in my Moode Album library they are listed as "Unknown Artist" "Unknown Title" . Didn't know if you all could help me out with what I'm missing. M3u file? Need Vorbis vs IDv3?

FWIW they are listed correctly in the File tree, but songs are out of order. 

Thanks in advance!

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

@Lttlwing16

[Full disclosure: I haven't used .wav files except for a few tests and I know nothing about the inner workings of Kid3]

Here's an excerpt from the Wikipedia article on WAV:

Quote:As a derivative of RIFF, WAV files can be tagged with metadata in the INFO chunk. In addition, WAV files can embed any kind of metadata, including but not limited to Extensible Metadata Platform (XMP) data[27] or ID3 tags[28] in extra chunks. Applications may not handle this extra information or may expect to see it in a particular place. Although the RIFF specification requires that applications ignore chunks they do not recognize, some applications are confused by additional chunks.[

In our case, the "applications" referred to here doesn't refer to moOde per se but to its constituent MPD's plug-ins which handle .wav files and metadata. Depending on where Kid3 put the metadata, the MPD plug-ins may or may not be able to find it.

Just out of curiosity, what does mediainfo report for any of your files?

Here's an example for a test file I made a few years ago using dBpoweramp to rip a CD:

Code: