Thank you for your donation!

Cloudsmith graciously provides open-source package management and distribution for our project.

gpio-shutdown overlay and Moode SIGTERM handling
Hi,

I just installed the latest moode version on an Audiophonics HiFi streamer (fantastic quality and value for the money - https://www.audiophonics.fr/en/network-a...13100.html).

The device embeds a separate power supply and management board (https://www.audiophonics.fr/en/raspberry...11504.html). Pressing the front panel hardware button shutdowns the system handeld by a gpio-shutdown overlay.

The time needed to shutdown the sytem this way is significantly shorter than when Moode is shutdown through its interface.

Does-it mean than the graceful shutdown is not the same in both cases ? When shutdown is requested through the UI Moode issues a  "mpc stop" and "systemctl stop nginx".

I understand (I am not a Linux expert) that shutdown (as well as reboot, poweroff ?) sends a sigterm signal to Moode (and other processes)

Q1 : does Moode catch the signal to do the housekeeping ?
Q2 : if not, what are the consequences of a hardware shutdown.

Thank you.

Regards.

Philippe
Shutdown from moOde WebUI takes ~15 seconds and includes the following:

- Up to 3 secs for moOde's job processing daemon to wake up and process the "poweroff" job sent from the WebUI
- Poweroff job executes the script /var/local/www/commandw/restart.sh poweroiff
- The poweroff section in restart.sh stops playback, stops the nginx web server then executes linux poweroff command
- The poweroff command shuts Linux down and powers off the Raspberry Pi (power LED flashes 10 times)

moOde does not catch or process any SIGTERM signals.
I have no idea what the audiophonics power board does.
Enjoy the Music!
moodeaudio.org | Mastodon Feed | GitHub
Hi Tim,