Thank you for your donation!

Cloudsmith graciously provides open-source package management and distribution for our project.

Idea: A unified system
Hi all,
So I'm relatively new to moOde and have just scratched the surface of the stuff I want to use it for.  It's great!

I think that it can be improved by presenting a unified API (or protocol).  As far as I know, everything is configured and controlled by the web UI.  It presents the system as a unified whole, but that is only superficial.  If you want to control or query the system from outside the web UI, then you talk directly to the different subsystems, for better or worse.  This works just fine for mpd, because it is made to be a back end and the communication is intrinsic to it working.  This doesn't work for a lot of other scenarios (switch to bluetooth streaming, is airplay on, etc).

Many people are trying to make moOde theirs through different customizations which is to be expected, given the hardware and open source environment.  I'm proposing that we define an interface to query and control all aspects of moOde.  This will make a very flexible system that will be far easier to integrate with and manage for end users.  For example, it would be very easy to add a remote control to the system (using lirc) with a unified programmable interface which would include switching to/from bluetooth.

I picture an API and network protocol that would mirror a lot of the stuff that moOde uses from mpd (in fact, just pass through mpd specific stuff) but also include everything else moOde does.  Switch inputs, and report what input is being used, pass along song metadata when available from the different sources, enable/disable DSP, and so on.