Thank you for your donation!

Cloudsmith graciously provides open-source package management and distribution for our project.

Airplay 2 settings?
So I have only an iPad available for streaming via Airplay. I have a Qobuz subscription so I thought I'd try it with moOde 8.2.1.

I can set the Qobuz app to stream "CD - 16 bit/44.1 kHz" or "Hi-Res - 24 bit/up to 96 kHz" when using Wi-Fi. (I don't bother with the top setting of "Hi-Res - 24 bit/up to 192 kHz".).

When playing a track tagged as Hi-Res in the Qobuz catalog I see a badge on the App screen "Hi-Res/48 kHz" (as opposed to "CD Quality"). It sounds good but my ancient ears are unreliable judges. Is there a way to determine the protocol version negotiated between iPadOS and Shairport? of determining the actual stream parameters "on the wire"?

Regards,
Kent

PS - great work on the update!
AFAIK Airplay 1 and 2 transcodes source PCM thats not already 16/44.1K format to 16/44.1K ALAC format.

The telltale for Airplay 2 is that the client will present checkboxes for selecting multiple endpoints for multiroom audio.

Enjoy the Music!
moodeaudio.org | Mastodon Feed | GitHub
(10-08-2022, 07:02 PM)Tim Curtis Wrote: AFAIK Airplay 1 and 2 transcodes source PCM thats not already 16/44.1K format to 16/44.1K ALAC format.

The telltale for Airplay 2 is that the client will present checkboxes for selecting multiple endpoints for multiroom audio.

Aha.

Once I enabled the Airplay renderer on several moOde 8.2.1 instances I found could choose more than one from the iPad and stream to them simultaneously. Sweet!

Over the years, I've come across a number of comments on the InterWeb™ which claim to know the upper limits of Airplay/Airplay 2 encoding parameters. Every commentator claims to be citing one Apple presentation or another. I can find nothing directly attributable to Apple of course.

The Qobuz "Hi-Res" badge is worthless if Airplay immediately downsamples its stream.

Regards,
Kent