Posts: 13,399
Threads: 304
Joined: Mar 2018
Reputation:
543
Yes, I think could work. Just add the network={} blocks.
As long as you don't use moOde's Network Config and SAVE they will remain there.
Posts: 4
Threads: 0
Joined: Jul 2020
Reputation:
0
Manually editing wpa_supplicant.conf worked a treat. I actually had three SSIDs saved in it while testing it. For anyone who wants a workaround in the meantime for adding more than one SSID, here's how it's done from a SSH command prompt:
sudo nano /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
copy the contents of wpa_supplicant.conf into a text file, either the full contents, or just the relevant section for the currently saved SSID credentials, which will look like this:
network={
ssid="wirelessnetwork1"
scan_ssid=1
psk=0f4964208xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx96aa58a0
}
exit nano, then log out of SSH. Through the config menu of the Moode interface, add your new network credentials, and reboot.
Log back in through SSH, and open wpa_supplicant.conf again. Paste the credentials of your previous saved network under the new one, so it will look like this:
network={
ssid="wirelessnetwork2"
scan_ssid=1
psk=0f4964208xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx96aa58a0
}
network={
ssid="wirelessnetwork1"
scan_ssid=1
psk=0f4964208xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx96aa58a0
}
exit nano, and it will ask if you want to save the changes you've made. Save them, and exit the SSH prompt. From now on, Moode should connect to either of these networks, until you overwrite wpa_supplicant.conf by adding a new network through the network config menu.
Posts: 4
Threads: 0
Joined: Jul 2020
Reputation:
0
Just to see what happened, last night I tried disabling the hotspot that moode was connected to, and enabling the other one. It switched over to the other hotspot pretty much instantly, no need to reboot.
Now all I need is a browser for Android that can actually resolve the moode.local address.
Posts: 13,399
Threads: 304
Joined: Mar 2018
Reputation:
543
Added to the moOde 7 series TODO list
Posts: 13,399
Threads: 304
Joined: Mar 2018
Reputation:
543
It's been on the TODO list for a long while but not getting any priority relative to other things but maybe a developer will be interested in this and volunteer their time to implement it :-)
Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Apr 2020
Reputation:
0
03-13-2021, 12:06 PM
(This post was last modified: 03-14-2021, 06:51 PM by lugius.)
If useful I wrote this function for an esp8266/wemos (used for clocks).
In my sketch I entered the credentials of my 4 hotspots and when it starts up the esp8266 loops until it finds one of the active wifi.