Thank you for your donation!

Cloudsmith graciously provides open-source package management and distribution for our project.

Newbie UPNP question
Hi all, I'm new to MoOde, network audio, and RPi in general so apologies if there's an obvious answer to this, but I can't find it.
RPi 3B, Moode 4.0, HiFi Berry Dac+ Pro.  I've got Moode up and running and it plays local files, internet radio etc fine. I would like to play the music files on my PC via UPNP. The UPNP server is Nero MediaHome 2015 running on Windows 10 Home.  I can access this using my Roberts internet radio which displays all the files on the server, and can play them at will.  I can also get the RPi to play them IF I select "Play to Moode Audio" on MediaHome so the link is basically working.

My question is how do I access those files using Moode?  UPNP is enabled (though I don't know whether that's as server or renderer) but nothing appears in the Browse window.  Do I have to tell Moode that MediaHome is a NAS maybe?  If so, how?   The Roberts simply needed to scan the network for a UPNP server and found it very quickly so I was hoping there'd be an equivalent command in Moode.  Any pointers gratefully received - thanks Smile.

I've been enjoying the jurney so far although it's a steep learning curve!
Hi,

moOde is not a UPnP controller so it can't access your remote files via UPnP but it can access them via network file sharing, using either either Samba (SMB) or NFS.

I'm not sure how to create a file share on Windows 10 so maybe another user can help out. Once this is done then you need to configure a NAS Source in moOde.

You might want to wait until moOde 4.1 is released (very soon) because it contains a nice Samba scanner that makes to easy to setup NAS sources.

-Tim
Enjoy the Music!
moodeaudio.org | Mastodon Feed | GitHub