Thank you for your donation!

Cloudsmith graciously provides open-source package management and distribution for our project.

Hello World & help with rendering local network music files
Hello moOde users, and thank you to Mr Curtis for admitting me to the club.
I'm an amateur / RPi hobbyist with a audio addiction.

I have two main audio systems, the family system is based on my cherished OPPO-105D now directly into a Classe CAV-75, which powers 5 Dali speakers and an REL sub.  When my flaky Parasound P7 works, it also facilitates a REGA P3 which is nice.  An old CCA renders Spotify just fine into the OPPO.

The other system is a 1980s Audio Research SP-8 manning a Classe CA-150 into the mighty Maggie 1.6QRs.  This system was vinyl only for 10+ years until I recently added a RPI + moOde solution:
  • RaspiOS: 11.3
  • Linux kernel: 5.15.32-v8+ #1538
  • Platform: Pi-Zero 2 W 1.0 512MB
  • Allo miniboss DAC HAT
  • Architecture: aarch64
  • MPD version: 0.23.5
  • moOde: 8.1.2 2022-07-08
My initial setup gave me many frustrating hours without sound, and only a complaint from ALSA about a lack of source.
I eventually figured out from the logs that the allo was in position 1, and another source was in position 0.  When I #'d out the line in the config file - dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d, the allo was in position 0 and it worked!

Very happy streaming Spotify.

UPNP ISSUE
My next frustration was trying to play music from my local FLAC library hosted on a local Synology NAS. I could see and play music just fine from the OPPO, VLC, my TV, etc. but I couldn't 'see' it from moOde. Being a newbie here it took ages to realize that moOde doesn't natively 'see' DLNA sources; another piece of software is required.  Now i have BubbleUPnP on my phone which sends the music to the moOde player.  This is a bit clunky and I hear a pop when changing files.  Hmm.