Posts: 16
Threads: 2
Joined: Feb 2019
Reputation:
0
(01-31-2025, 07:22 PM)philrandal Wrote: (01-31-2025, 06:52 PM)Opera Wrote: Edit: I managed to connect using moode.local!
Now moode is connected to the internet and I can also use the UI!
I have configured the AP password; unfortunately the password problem remains for my Pi3b.
Is this a problem that will be solved?
I may not always have internet available and it would be nice to have the AP function available on the Pi3b as well..
The AP password problem might be this one, perhaps:
https://forums.raspberrypi.com/viewtopic...1#p2150504
Edit: wondering if explicitly setting group and pairwise ciphers to ccmp (or tkip) would fix the issue. You'd need to see what it was advertising.
Unfortunately working on the command line is beyond my capabilities and skills..
The only thing I can do is wait for a new release of Moode that fixes the problem..
Posts: 14,001
Threads: 318
Joined: Mar 2018
Reputation:
571
(01-31-2025, 07:22 PM)philrandal Wrote: (01-31-2025, 06:52 PM)Opera Wrote: Edit: I managed to connect using moode.local!
Now moode is connected to the internet and I can also use the UI!
I have configured the AP password; unfortunately the password problem remains for my Pi3b.
Is this a problem that will be solved?
I may not always have internet available and it would be nice to have the AP function available on the Pi3b as well..
The AP password problem might be this one, perhaps:
https://forums.raspberrypi.com/viewtopic...1#p2150504
Edit: wondering if explicitly setting group and pairwise ciphers to ccmp (or tkip) would fix the issue. You'd need to see what it was advertising.
Could be a solution.
If someone with a 3B posts a success case I'll add to the TODO list for the upcoming 9.2.4 release.
Posts: 14,001
Threads: 318
Joined: Mar 2018
Reputation:
571
(01-31-2025, 05:33 PM)Opera Wrote: (01-31-2025, 03:15 PM)philrandal Wrote: I still cannot for the life of me understand why you are hell-bent on using the pi as an access point.
Configure your WiFi router's SSID and password when you burn the SD card containing Moode 9 using RPI Imager.
Edit settings and put in your router's SSID and password in the "Wireless Settings" section before burning the image.
Then it will obtain an IP address using DHCP and should be accessible via http://moode.local/
Cheers,
Phil
Because I don't have a wifi router in my house. Not even a wired phone line.
I also use my cell phone as an internet resource.
I honestly don't know how to do it with just my cell phone.
For me, it is much more practical to have an AP with Moode; however if you can give me instructions on how to get access with the cellular network, I would be happy to try.
In the meantime, I would also like to understand why the moodecfg file is not created in the Moode image.
All your advice is greatly appreciated.
I think that file used to be named /boot/moodecfg.ini.default in older 8 series versions of moode. It wasn't needed in the 9 series because (a) WiFi settings were made in the Pi Imager and (b) it didn't appear that anyone was using it for just doing an AP-only boot.
The file still works though. Its used in the Backup/Restore process. If you make a backup and then unzip the file you can use that moodecfg.ini. Make your edits to it, copy it to /boot on the SD Card and then when you boot the Pi it will be processed.
Another way to create the file is to use the command below.
Code: pi@moode9:~ $ sudo moodeutl -e
Configuration settings exported to /home/pi/moodecfg-250131_201853.ini
Posts: 14,001
Threads: 318
Joined: Mar 2018
Reputation:
571
(01-31-2025, 06:52 PM)Opera Wrote: Edit: I managed to connect using moode.local!
Now moode is connected to the internet and I can also use the UI!
I have configured the AP password; unfortunately the password problem remains for my Pi3b.
Is this a problem that will be solved?
I may not always have internet available and it would be nice to have the AP function available on the Pi3b as well..
Im curious as to how you managed to connect to moode from your phone when there is no WiFi network?
Posts: 16
Threads: 2
Joined: Feb 2019
Reputation:
0
01-31-2025, 08:32 PM
(This post was last modified: 01-31-2025, 08:39 PM by Opera.)
(01-31-2025, 08:21 PM)Tim Curtis Wrote: (01-31-2025, 06:52 PM)Opera Wrote: Edit: I managed to connect using moode.local!
Now moode is connected to the internet and I can also use the UI!
I have configured the AP password; unfortunately the password problem remains for my Pi3b.
Is this a problem that will be solved?
I may not always have internet available and it would be nice to have the AP function available on the Pi3b as well..
Im curious as to how you managed to connect to moode from your phone when there is no WiFi network?
I used the "wifi router" function of the phone, which behaves more or less like a traditional router.
So, in creating the image I entered the data of the phone network and all the other necessary information.
When I started Moode for the first time, it connected after a little more than a minute.
Then from the tablet (connected to the phone's internet wifi network), I went to moode.local and I managed to enter the UI!
Posts: 16
Threads: 2
Joined: Feb 2019
Reputation:
0
(01-31-2025, 08:03 PM)Tim Curtis Wrote: (01-31-2025, 07:22 PM)philrandal Wrote: (01-31-2025, 06:52 PM)Opera Wrote: Edit: I managed to connect using moode.local!
Now moode is connected to the internet and I can also use the UI!
I have configured the AP password; unfortunately the password problem remains for my Pi3b.
Is this a problem that will be solved?
I may not always have internet available and it would be nice to have the AP function available on the Pi3b as well..
The AP password problem might be this one, perhaps:
https://forums.raspberrypi.com/viewtopic...1#p2150504
Edit: wondering if explicitly setting group and pairwise ciphers to ccmp (or tkip) would fix the issue. You'd need to see what it was advertising.
Could be a solution.
If someone with a 3B posts a success case I'll add to the TODO list for the upcoming 9.2.4 release.
It would be great if someone could test it. Unfortunately I don't have the necessary skills.
I hope this problem will be solved, because it can happen that the internet is not always available, and the AP function would be useful in this case..
Posts: 272
Threads: 19
Joined: Apr 2018
Reputation:
11
01-31-2025, 10:06 PM
(This post was last modified: 01-31-2025, 10:40 PM by philrandal.)
OK, I have made some progress.
Default AP on a Pi 3B has connection proto "rsn". Even after using nmcli to set pairwise to "ccmp" advertises tkip and ccmp, which I suspect is the problem.
I can login from windows 11 but not from my Android 14 phone.
Changing the proto to "wpa" enables me to connect from both my phone and from windows, with warnings of insecure connection, of course.
Code: sudo nmcli con modify Moode3 802-11-wireless-security.group ccmp 802-11-wireless-security.pairwise ccmp 802-11-wireless-security.proto wpa
After a reboot it all works.
sudo cat /etc/NetworkManager/system-connections/Hotspot.nmconnection
Code: [connection]
id=Moode3
uuid=48611b33-96b9-4133-b0d2-f244c234b548
type=wifi
autoconnect=false
interface-name=wlan0
timestamp=1738360436
[wifi]
mode=ap
ssid=Moode3
[wifi-security]
group=ccmp;
key-mgmt=wpa-psk
pairwise=ccmp;
proto=wpa;
psk=whatevverpassword
[ipv4]
address1=172.24.1.1/24
method=shared
[ipv6]
addr-gen-mode=default
method=ignore
[proxy]
Not ideal, I know, but I can't figure out how to turn off tkip with wpa2 which might well be the root of the problem.
Sorry if I'm barking up the wrong tree here.
Cheers,
Phil
Posts: 14,001
Threads: 318
Joined: Mar 2018
Reputation:
571
(01-31-2025, 10:06 PM)philrandal Wrote: OK, I have made some progress.
Default AP on a Pi 3B has connection proto "rsn". Even after using nmcli to set pairwise to "ccmp" advertises tkip and ccmp, which I suspect is the problem.
I can login from windows 11 but not from my Android 14 phone.
Changing the proto to "wpa" enables me to connect from both my phone and from windows, with warnings of insecure connection, of course.
Thanks Phil.
Below is the code that generates the Hotspot.nmconnection file. Is the fix to set "proto=wpa\n" for Pi-3B ?
If yes then I'll find my 3B and run some tests.
Code: // Wireless: Hotspot
$fh = fopen('/etc/NetworkManager/system-connections/Hotspot.nmconnection', 'w');
$data = "#########################################\n";
$data .= "# This file is managed by moOde \n";
$data .= "# Wireless: Hotspot \n";
$data .= "#########################################\n\n";
$data .= "[connection]\n";
$data .= "id=" . $cfgNetwork[2]['wlanssid'] . "\n";
$data .= "uuid=" . $cfgNetwork[2]['wlanuuid'] . "\n";
$data .= "type=wifi\n";
$data .= "interface-name=wlan0\n";
$data .= "autoconnect=false\n";
$data .= "[wifi]\n";
$data .= "mode=ap\n";
$data .= "ssid=" . $cfgNetwork[2]['wlanssid'] . "\n";
$data .= "[wifi-security]\n";
$data .= "group=ccmp\n";
$data .= "pairwise=ccmp\n";
$data .= "proto=rsn\n";
$data .= "key-mgmt=wpa-psk\n";
$data .= "psk=" . $cfgNetwork[2]['wlanpsk'] . "\n";
$data .= "[ipv4]\n";
$data .= "method=shared\n";
$data .= "address1=" . $_SESSION['ap_network_addr'] . "\n";
$data .= "[ipv6]\n";
$data .= "addr-gen-mode=default\n";
$data .= "method=ignore\n";
fwrite($fh, $data);
fclose($fh);
Posts: 272
Threads: 19
Joined: Apr 2018
Reputation:
11
01-31-2025, 10:27 PM
(This post was last modified: 01-31-2025, 10:51 PM by philrandal.)
(01-31-2025, 10:16 PM)Tim Curtis Wrote: (01-31-2025, 10:06 PM)philrandal Wrote: OK, I have made some progress.
Default AP on a Pi 3B has connection proto "rsn". Even after using nmcli to set pairwise to "ccmp" advertises tkip and ccmp, which I suspect is the problem.
I can login from windows 11 but not from my Android 14 phone.
Changing the proto to "wpa" enables me to connect from both my phone and from windows, with warnings of insecure connection, of course.
Thanks Phil.
Below is the code that generates the Hotspot.nmconnection file. Is the fix to set "proto=wpa\n" for Pi-3B ?
If yes then I'll find my 3B and run some tests.
Code: // Wireless: Hotspot
$fh = fopen('/etc/NetworkManager/system-connections/Hotspot.nmconnection', 'w');
$data = "#########################################\n";
$data .= "# This file is managed by moOde \n";
$data .= "# Wireless: Hotspot \n";
$data .= "#########################################\n\n";
$data .= "[connection]\n";
$data .= "id=" . $cfgNetwork[2]['wlanssid'] . "\n";
$data .= "uuid=" . $cfgNetwork[2]['wlanuuid'] . "\n";
$data .= "type=wifi\n";
$data .= "interface-name=wlan0\n";
$data .= "autoconnect=false\n";
$data .= "[wifi]\n";
$data .= "mode=ap\n";
$data .= "ssid=" . $cfgNetwork[2]['wlanssid'] . "\n";
$data .= "[wifi-security]\n";
$data .= "group=ccmp\n";
$data .= "pairwise=ccmp\n";
$data .= "proto=rsn\n";
$data .= "key-mgmt=wpa-psk\n";
$data .= "psk=" . $cfgNetwork[2]['wlanpsk'] . "\n";
$data .= "[ipv4]\n";
$data .= "method=shared\n";
$data .= "address1=" . $_SESSION['ap_network_addr'] . "\n";
$data .= "[ipv6]\n";
$data .= "addr-gen-mode=default\n";
$data .= "method=ignore\n";
fwrite($fh, $data);
fclose($fh);
More a workaround to degrade it to WPA instead of WPA2, than a real fix.
I suspect the uiltimate problem is buggy firmware on the 3B's WiFi chip. This will apply to the original Pi Zero W. Pi Zero 2 W should be fine.
Afterthought: WPA2 works if you're trying to connect from a Windows PC. The problem arises only when connecting from Android (and iPhones?).
Best workaround is an option to choose via the UI with suitable warnings not to use WPA unless WPA2 doesn't work for you. If you only have an Android device you won't be able to change from WPA2 to WPA, which leads us back to square one. Default to WPA for the Pi 1 W and Pi 3B, with an option to change it to WPA2?
I haven't tried AP mode on a Pi 4 or 5. Do those both advertise TKIP with WPA2 as well?
Posts: 272
Threads: 19
Joined: Apr 2018
Reputation:
11
The more I think about this the more I am tending towards the idea of putting a file named "forcewpa" in the boot partition to tell Moode to override the default settings. That way, if your Pi 3b or zero w boots into AP mode and you can't access it from your phone / tablet then adding such a file onto the SD card would at least enable you to connect via WPA instead of WPA2.
|