Posts: 13,426
Threads: 304
Joined: Mar 2018
Reputation:
545
(04-11-2022, 09:23 AM)romain Wrote: (04-07-2022, 09:28 AM)romain Wrote: Hello,
since I've been using moOde 8.0.2, I have the same problem of volume adjustment as in the initial post of this thread with the MAFA android app (MPD client): volume jumps to 0 if I try to change it. This didn't occur with moOde 7.6.1.
I use Allo BOSS2 and MiniBOSS DACs.
I will do more tests and let you know.
Thanks,
Romain
Problem only occurs with my BOSS2 DAC whereas it works fine with the MINIBOSS. Same install, same moOde version (8.0.2), same mpd settings on both players, the only difference is the I2S device. Changing volume type from hardware to software has no effect.
Very odd.
Try checking the state of the mixer and whether it's on or off
https://moodeaudio.org/forum/showthread....9#pid40829
For the Boss 2 run the command below
Code: amixer sget "Master"
Posts: 159
Threads: 19
Joined: Mar 2020
Reputation:
3
04-11-2022, 11:57 AM
(This post was last modified: 04-11-2022, 12:09 PM by romain.)
(04-11-2022, 11:49 AM)Tim Curtis Wrote: (04-11-2022, 09:23 AM)romain Wrote: (04-07-2022, 09:28 AM)romain Wrote: Hello,
since I've been using moOde 8.0.2, I have the same problem of volume adjustment as in the initial post of this thread with the MAFA android app (MPD client): volume jumps to 0 if I try to change it. This didn't occur with moOde 7.6.1.
I use Allo BOSS2 and MiniBOSS DACs.
I will do more tests and let you know.
Thanks,
Romain
Problem only occurs with my BOSS2 DAC whereas it works fine with the MINIBOSS. Same install, same moOde version (8.0.2), same mpd settings on both players, the only difference is the I2S device. Changing volume type from hardware to software has no effect.
Very odd.
Try checking the state of the mixer and whether it's on or off
https://moodeaudio.org/forum/showthread....9#pid40829
For the Boss 2 run the command below
Code: amixer sget "Master"
Result of this command:
Simple mixer control 'Master',0
Capabilities: pvolume pswitch
Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
Limits: Playback 0 - 255
Mono:
Front Left: Playback 220 [86%] [-17.50dB] [on]
Front Right: Playback 220 [86%] [-17.50dB] [on]
Also, if I change the volume with MAFA, volume in moOde web interface is not synchronized and vice versa
Posts: 159
Threads: 19
Joined: Mar 2020
Reputation:
3
04-11-2022, 11:59 AM
(This post was last modified: 04-11-2022, 12:10 PM by romain.
Edit Reason: Sorry for the double post
)
(04-11-2022, 11:57 AM)romain Wrote: (04-11-2022, 11:49 AM)Tim Curtis Wrote: (04-11-2022, 09:23 AM)romain Wrote: (04-07-2022, 09:28 AM)romain Wrote: Hello,
since I've been using moOde 8.0.2, I have the same problem of volume adjustment as in the initial post of this thread with the MAFA android app (MPD client): volume jumps to 0 if I try to change it. This didn't occur with moOde 7.6.1.
I use Allo BOSS2 and MiniBOSS DACs.
I will do more tests and let you know.
Thanks,
Romain
Problem only occurs with my BOSS2 DAC whereas it works fine with the MINIBOSS. Same install, same moOde version (8.0.2), same mpd settings on both players, the only difference is the I2S device. Changing volume type from hardware to software has no effect.
Very odd.
Try checking the state of the mixer and whether it's on or off
https://moodeaudio.org/forum/showthread....9#pid40829
For the Boss 2 run the command below
Code: amixer sget "Master"
Result of this command:
Simple mixer control 'Master',0
Capabilities: pvolume pswitch
Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
Limits: Playback 0 - 255
Mono:
Front Left: Playback 220 [86%] [-17.50dB] [on]
Front Right: Playback 220 [86%] [-17.50dB] [on]
Also, if I change the volume with MAFA, volume in moOde web interface is not synchronized and vice versa
Posts: 13,426
Threads: 304
Joined: Mar 2018
Reputation:
545
Syncing moOde's volume knob to a UPnP control point is not really supported although there is a hack that can be implemented that might work. YMMV.
Code: # Add UPnP volume sync
moodeutl -A add 1024
sudo reboot
# Remove volume sync
moodeutl -A rm 1024
sudo reboot
Posts: 48
Threads: 7
Joined: Jan 2021
Reputation:
0
Hello,
I tested also with my Allo Boss DAC 2.
When the volume is down i logged into the pi.
How can i fix the problem?
Code: Apr 11 16:10:38 2022 from 192.168.178.20
pi@moodeWohn:~ $ amixer sget "Master"
Simple mixer control 'Master',0
Capabilities: pvolume pswitch
Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
Limits: Playback 0 - 255
Mono:
Front Left: Playback 0 [0%] [-127.50dB] [on]
Front Right: Playback 0 [0%] [-127.50dB] [on]
pi@moodeWohn:~ $
Posts: 13,426
Threads: 304
Joined: Mar 2018
Reputation:
545
I just ran a few tests with my Boss 2 and no issues whatsoever with volume knob changes. I'll need to be able to repro the issue in order to help troubleshoot.
Posts: 15
Threads: 3
Joined: Feb 2022
Reputation:
0
04-12-2022, 02:55 AM
(This post was last modified: 04-12-2022, 03:10 AM by schliden.)
To clarify, I am still running 7.6.1 and continue to intermittently experience the issue with the volume 'jumping' to 0 when I attempt to change volume from UPNP control app.
I am using an external USB DAC with hardware volume control.
Its certainly doesn't happen most of the time... maybe 1 in every 20 attempts to change the volume will result in this unwanted 'jump' to 0.
As I understand it, the UPNP control app, will request the current volume level from the UPNP renderer before the volume adjustment is requested.
Could the jump be caused by a delay in response to the volume level request ?
Posts: 159
Threads: 19
Joined: Mar 2020
Reputation:
3
04-12-2022, 09:07 AM
(This post was last modified: 04-12-2022, 09:08 AM by romain.)
(04-11-2022, 01:52 PM)Tim Curtis Wrote: Syncing moOde's volume knob to a UPnP control point is not really supported although there is a hack that can be implemented that might work. YMMV.
Code: # Add UPnP volume sync
moodeutl -A add 1024
sudo reboot
# Remove volume sync
moodeutl -A rm 1024
sudo reboot
Thanks, I'll test this hack although I use MAFA as a mpd client rather than a UPnP control point. I don't know if that makes a difference in this case
Posts: 6,024
Threads: 176
Joined: Apr 2018
Reputation:
235
@ romain
I can't speak to the issue of volume going to zero.
As for controlling volume through an external MPD client, you're correct that the changes will not be reflected in the moOde's WebUI.
It doesn't take a closed-source client like MAFA to demonstrate this. Just run the mpc program or pass protocol commands via telnet. The WebUI won't reflect changes in volume. In a nutshell, this low-level interaction bypasses the moOde code which syncs the database, the WebUI display, and the MPD setting.
Regards,
Kent
Posts: 15
Threads: 3
Joined: Feb 2022
Reputation:
0
04-13-2022, 04:32 AM
(This post was last modified: 04-13-2022, 12:54 PM by schliden.)
(04-11-2022, 01:52 PM)Tim Curtis Wrote: Syncing moOde's volume knob to a UPnP control point is not really supported although there is a hack that can be implemented that might work. YMMV.
Code: # Add UPnP volume sync
moodeutl -A add 1024
sudo reboot
# Remove volume sync
moodeutl -A rm 1024
sudo reboot
I have not applied the hack, and the main moOde web interface volume knob DOES seem to be sync'd to changes made using the Kazoo UPNP Control app ?
Please ignore that. I just tested it again and it does not seem to be the case.. apologies.
|